first_imgThe Congress is on its way to a spectacular third successive victory in the Assam Assembly elections, winning 16 seats and leading in 68 of the 126 constituencies.Riding on the planks of development and peace, the Congress is set to form the 13th state legislature with most of its ministers, led by Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi winning from their respective constituencies.Congress’ steady alliance partner Bodoland Peoples’ Front (BPF) also performed credibly winning two seats and leading in 13 others.The All India United Democratic Front has won one seat and is leading in 17 others.AGP suffered a big reverse when its prominent leader and former two-time chief minister lost to his Congress rival Rockybul Hussain at Samaguri by over 20,000 votes.Mohanta was, however, was leading in his home constituency Baharampur over his Congress rival Suren Bora.Both AGP and BJP won one seat each. The AGP is leading in 12 seats while the BJP in three.All India Trinamool Congress opened its account for the first time in Assam with its candidate Dwipen Pathak defeating former Lok Sabha Congress MP Kirip Chaliha.Leading from the front, Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi led the party to victory winning from Titabor constituency and almost all the ministers, barring culture and sports minister Bharat Narah, have romped home with comfortable margin.AGP’s Naba Kumar Doley wrested the Dhakuakhana constituency from Narah, who has been a sitting MLA from the constituency for the last 25 years.Health Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, PWD minister Ajanta Neog, Social Welfare Minister Akon Bora, Forest Minister Rockybul Hussain and Congress ally BPF’s representatives in the cabinet Pramila Rani Brahma and Chandan Brahma have also won.advertisementThe Congress wrested seven seats – Bokajan (ST), Karimganj (North), Dergaon, Bokakhat, Khumtai and Raha–from AGP, BJP, AIUDF and Independents.Congress’s Klengdoong Engti wrested the Bokajan (ST) seat from Independent sitting MLA Jagat Singh Engti and Arun Phukan defeated sitting Independent MLA and former ULFA militant Jiten Gogoi.- With PTI inputsFor more log on to:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *